2010 Recipient: Ed Clark

2010 Canada’s Outstanding CEO of the Year award recipient

Ed Clark

TD Bank Group

Ed Clark was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of TD Bank Financial Group on December 20, 2002. Prior to this appointment, he was President and Chief Operating Officer, a role he held since July 2000.

Following TD’s acquisition of Canada Trust Financial Services in February of 2000, Ed joined TD Bank Financial Group as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of TD Canada Trust. In this role he oversaw the successful integration of the TD and Canada Trust banking operations. Before joining TDBFG, Ed was President and Chief Executive Officer of Canada Trust Financial Services.

In 1985, he joined Merrill Lynch, and three years later was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Morgan Financial Corporation, a position he held until he joined Canada Trust Financial Services Inc. in 1991. From 1974 to 1984, Ed held a number of senior positions in the federal government.

Ed graduated from the University of Toronto in 1969 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. He earned his Master’s degree and Doctorate in Economics from Harvard University in 1971 and 1974 respectively. Ed has also received honorary degrees from Mount Allison University and Queen’s University.

He serves as Chairman of the Board of TD Bank N.A., TD’s US bank holding company, and also serves as Vice Chairman of the Board of TD Ameritrade Holding Corporation. He is the 2010 Chair of the United Way for the Greater Toronto Area, a member of the Board of Directors of the C.D. Howe Institute, a member of the Chair’s Advisory Council for Habitat for Humanity Toronto, and provides support to Woodgreen Community Services, an organization that delivers programs to build sustainable communities in the Toronto area. In 2010, he was appointed to the Order of Canada – one of the country’s highest distinctions – for his “contributions to Canada’s banking and financial industry, and for his voluntary and philanthropic endeavours”. This year Ed also received Egale’s Leadership Award in honor of his leadership in supporting LGBT (Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender) communities, and the inaugural Catalyst Canada Honour, awarded to individuals who have made a critical and visible difference to women’s advancement.

please note:company names and biographical information here reflects the role and activity held at the time of receiving the award

site design: Tomodomo